#82

Hey there!

I’m back again with a whole new playlist for you. This one comprises not five, but seven songs- because I noticed my to-share-playlist was accumulating too many songs I couldn’t even properly trace back to.

Go ahead and enjoy the line up I’ve put together-

anoushka-shankarFirst one on the playlist is fresh off the top of my head. I heard it about 90 minutes or so ago and then debated for a few on which one of Anoushka Shankar’s many tracks I can choose to share from, but then finally settled on the one that I’d just heard.

This one is called Charukeshi.

If you’re new to the very earthy, melodious, and peace-rendering music from India, I’m hoping Anoushka Shankar’s Charukeshi was a good song to start your Indian musical experience with. I for one, despite being so heavily influenced by the likes of Bob Marley, Tool, or even Beethoven for that matter, find that I really enjoy listening to Indian carnatic music just as much.


This one is also something I heard recently (sometime during the past week), and of all theELO ELO songs I know, this has to be one of my favourites.

It’s the Electric Light Orchestra with Strange Magic.

I also really enjoy singing along to this song (or any ELO song now that I think about it).

The track Strange Magic is off the band’s 75′ album ‘Face The Music’.


Blind-FaithLooks like I’ve thrown in one too many tracks that date back over three decades, because this next one by a band called Blind Faith is from 1969. The track is called Can’t Find My Way Home.

Can’t Find My Way Home was written by Steve Winwood (English musician, famous for his contribution in bands like Traffic or The Spencer Davis Group), and is from the band’s self-titled album.

There are also several cover versions you’ll find of this song, but I think this original still has its charm.


So the next song I’m sharing is a massive leap in timelines because this is Audioslave with Audioslavetheir 2002 track Like A Stone.

Like A Stone was nominated for the Best Hard Rock Performance in the Grammy’s that year, but instead went to Linkin Park for Crawling.

I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned this over this blog before, that I’m in fact not a huge fan of Audioslave in general, or of Chris Cornell’s voice. But that having been said, they do a fine job on quite a few occasions and so just cannot be ignored.


Paul CardallI do wish I had more information on this next song and artist (Information like How I know the artists or How I was introduced to this beautiful piece of work), but oh well.

It’s a track called Redeemer and features Paul Cardall on piano, and Steven Sharp Nelson on cello. (You probably know Steven Sharp Nelson from The Piano Guys over YouTube. He’s the guy who plays the cello there.)

My research into this song and Paul Cardall tends to a more sacred or religious side of things, but I’d like to not look at this track that way (I know it’s called Redeemer). It’s a really soothing, beautiful piece of work, so I hope you enjoy it!


This next song is probably going to have a lot of you nostalgic. It’s a track called Brighter AqualungThan Sunshine, which came out in 2003, and is by the musician Aqualung.

The song Brighter Than Sunshine got even more popular after it featured on the American romantic comedy ‘A Lot Like Love’.

So the song classifies as an indie pop ballad (I guess that fits perfectly), and I still like it. It’s simple, but beautiful! I also like Matt Hales’ lazy crooning voice!


And the highlight of my playlist is finally here! I have to shamelessly admit I’ve been patiently waiting for the right playlist to put this one on, but then got restless and ended up building this entire playlist around this one song. 😀

Caro EmeraldIt’s Caro Emerald with A Night Like This.

First talking about the track (because I have lesser to say about it and more on the artist), A Night Like This is from Caro Emerald’s 2009 album ‘Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor’. The jazzy upbeat track peaked on the UK charts after it was released, and I can’t imagine how it wouldn’t have.

Caro Emerald is a Dutch pop and jazz singer, who’s been enthralling the world with her vibrant style and voice since 2007. I am in fact intrigued by how a really simple voice like hers has me mesmerized. (I’ve listened to the song four times in a row now, and I’ve had goosebumps each time). I think it’s the diction and her outstanding ability to express vibrance just through her voice. Also, I think she’s incredibly beautiful!

All of that put aside, A Night Like This is a brilliant track and I’m sure you’ll love it.


And with that, I close playlist #82. It’s two more songs than I would normally share, but hoping they’re all worth it.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

