#60

Hey.

So I’m back again with a brand new playlist to share with you. Here it goes-

First song I’m giving you is called Hook and is by the late 80s blues rock and jam Blues Travellerband Blues Traveler. here’s something interesting about the whole purpose of the song and why it’s called Hook.

The title of the song is a reference to the term hook, which is a musical idea, often a short riff, passage, or phrase, that is used in popular music to make a song appealing and to “catch the ear of the listener. The song’s lyrics, aimed directly at the listener, assert that the lyrical content of any song is effectively meaningless, as the song’s musical hook will keep listeners coming back, even if they are unaware of the reason. In the introduction, John Popper sings, “It doesn’t matter what I say / So long as I sing with inflection / That makes you feel that I’ll convey / Some inner truth of vast reflection.” This is followed by more lyrics about how he has nothing to say.

-Wikipedia


Shania TwainShania Twain now with a single from her hit album ‘Up!’. The track is called When You Kiss Me.

Now I’m not a big fan of Shania Twain’s music. It’s good music sure. Good melodies, and a good voice as well. Technically not challenging enough however. Why I like this song is because its melody line is very captivating. The way the chorus starts is something I’ve never found on any other song before.


This next song is a single that was nominated for the Best Hard Rock Performance atOzzy Osbourne the Grammys in 2007. It’s Ozzy Osbourne with the single I Don’t Wanna Stop from his 2007 album ‘Black Rain’.

The list of programs and other reasons this song has been featured elsewhere is endless, so I’m not even going to make an attempt to start mentioning the features.

I hope you like the song though.


Emerson Lake and PalmerNow coming down to a song I’ve been eagerly looking forward to share with you. It’s a song from Emerson, Lake and Palmer’s 1992 album ‘Black Moon’, and is called Romeo and Juliet.

The song is the band’s rendition of Russian composer, pianist and conductor, Sergei Prokofiev’s ballet for Shakespeare’s play Romeo and Juliet. Yeah, I think you should take a moment to get your head around that as well.

I listened to Prokofiev’s ballet just a while back, and as a classical musician myself, I drew heavily from it. And then immediately having listened to ELP’s cover is one of the nicest feelings I have experienced. You should probably try it the same way.

I always thought Emerson Lake and Palmer were one of the best in the field wrt. psychedelic progressive music. I still stand by that.


Last song on today’s playlist is another favourite of mine. I’m giving you A Perfect Circle with their song 3 Libras.A Perfect Circle

The song is from the band’s 2001 album ‘Mer de Noms’. Unlike most of the other tracks on the album, this one takes a more mellow melodic turn, the result being a very deep thought-provoking song conveying more than expected.

Some song facts for you-

Keenan shed some more light on this song in their aMotion DVD, where he explained that this is a song about parasitic-like people seeing something different or special about a person. Instead of nurturing that quality or helping that person grow, the “3 Libras” feed off of the energy in a bad way instead of using it for good.

-Wikipedia


That brings playlist #60 to a close. I hope you enjoy the music I’ve just shared. I will be back again real soon with 5 more songs for you.

Until then.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

