#58

Hey world.

Here’s the next playlist for you- 

Would you believe I’m listening to Pink Floyd’s Brain Damage on stereo and 10cc’s I’m Not In Love on one ear phone, at the same time? Any guesses which one of the two I’m sharing with you right now?

10ccSince 10cc hasn’t been shared so far, yeah, that’s the one. The song has been featured in several films, so you might have heard it before. Also in GTA: Vice City Stories.

Here’s something interesting I just read about the choral effect on this song-

The ethereal sound was created by laboriously building up multiple overdubs of the voices of Eric Stewart, Graham Gouldman, Kevin Godley and Lol Creme singing a single note in unison. This multi-track was then mixed and dubbed down onto 16-track tape. This process was repeated across all 16 tracks to create a lush 256-voice “virtual” choir that could “sing” chromatic chords.

-Wikipedia


I heard Mad Season’s Long Gone Day just a week back and I simply had to share itMad Season on a playlist ASAP. I just couldn’t get enough of the track. Haunting is definitely the word I want to go with here. That’s what Layne Staley’s voice on the track is for me anyway.

I’ve probably mentioned this before, but I’ll say it again. It’s hard to ignore that element of Alice In Chains in Mad Season’s music, if you’ve heard Alice In Chains ie. And of course there’s Layne Staley’s very impressive voice.

The song in general, takes a Bossa Nova route, and is very well executed I would say, but I would like to draw your attention to duration 2:30 of the track. That transition there is the highlight on this song for me. Even though it lasts just about 18 seconds.


The Black CrowesThe Black Crowes now with a song called Bad Luck Blue Eyes Goodbye.

I have a terribly hard time remembering that song title. To me it seems like five random words with the most probability of tongue twisting when put together, were put together. But all of that put aside, it is a really beautiful song. Chris Robinson has a very unique voice and singing style, and after a while  of listening to different Black Crowes music, I can finally identify said band’s music in the first few seconds.


A friend recently asked me if I had listened to Jimmy Eat World’s version of theJoan Jett and the Blackhearts song Crimson and Clover and that’s when I was reminded of Joan Jett’s version of it. I still haven’t gotten around to checking out Jimmy Eat World’s cover, but I’ll be doing that sometime soon.

So anyway, right now, for you, it’s Joan Jett and the Blackhearts with their rendition of Crimson and Clover.


Beastie BoysLast song on today’s playlist might not be everybody’s cup of tea. But even if that’s the case, this isn’t the first time I’ve given you something extreme right?

It’s the 80s American hip-hop band Beastie Boy with So What’cha Want.

I’m not a big fan of hip-hop at all, but I do believe hip-hop, in it’s pure original form, was an expressive art. So on those grounds, I enjoy SOME of Beastie Boys’ music. It’s catchy and upbeat. And such a good driving beat at that.


And thus closes another playlist for this term-break week of mine. Will probably do at least three more since I can afford the time.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

