#54

Hey world.

Another playlist for you- 

Starting this off with American indie rock band The Strokes and the first track from their fourth studio album ‘Angles’, the song is called Machu Picchu.

The StrokesI enjoy listening to this song because of how much fun it is. Lead vocalist Julian Casablancas has a really interesting way of singing this one. His voice has always been amusing to me anyway. In a good way I mean.

This is what he had to say about the song-

There are lyrics about keeping yourself busy. ‘I’m just trying to find a mountain I can climb,’ and Machu Picchu is the Inca sacred place in the Andean mountains of Peru. So the title started out as a joke, but then the joke seemed fitted.


I’ve been really excited about sharing this next song with you. My brother was the one to introduce me to this one. It’s Lauren O’Connell with her cover of the famous folk song House Of The Rising Sun.Lauren OConnell

The most successful commercial version, recorded in 1964 by the English rock group The Animals, was a number one hit in the United Kingdom, the United States, Sweden, Finland, Canada and Australia. And since then there have been a number of artists who have covered the track, each of them doing a really good job and giving the song a very unique feel altogether. I particularly love what Lauren O’Connell has done with her rendition.

A little about the lady- She is a singer/songwriter/ multi-instrumentalist from New York. She began uploading videos of herself performing original songs on YouTube, and they instantly got her a lot of recognition. She has now proceeded to having released three full length solo albums and one EP. Check her out here- http://laurenoconnell.com/


Another cover of a really popular track- it’s the Meat Puppets with Smells Like Teen Spirit.

Meat PuppetsFor those of you who do not know the Meat Puppets yet-

Meat Puppets started as a punk rock band, but later they established their own unique style, blending punk with country and psychedelic rock, and featuring Curt’s warbling vocals. Meat Puppets later gained significant exposure when the Kirkwood brothers served as guest musicians on Nirvana‘s MTV Unplugged performance in 1993.

-Wikipedia

On that note, I do not really like Curt Kirkwood’s voice. What stands out on this version for me is the pure unplugged nature of the track. It’s got strong elements of the grunge band that Meat Puppets turned out to be and a lot of raw emotions and feelings- Reminds me of impromptu jam sessions in garages.


My research on finding out exactly where Snow Patrol is from has left me terribly confused. What exactly does “is a Snow PatrolBritish band from Northern Irish-Scotland” even mean?

I decided on their song Shut Your Eyes, from the band’s fourth studio album ‘Eyes Open’. (I see what you did there Snow Patrol).

I love this song. It’s my favourite Snow Patrol track, and has been for quite some time now. I really dig Gary Lightbody’s voice, his accent, his manner of singing, and his name. In fact, every time I listen to a Snow Patrol song there’s a video of him singing that plays in my head.


And to close off this playlist, I chose none other than Brother Dege and his awesome OST for Django Unchained. The track is called Too Old To Die Young.

Brother DegeThere is not a lot of information available on this artist. This is all I found- Brother Dege Legg is most known for being the mainman in the band Santeria, who describe their sound as “psyouthern hard rock”. The track Too Old To Die Young is off Brother Dege’s album ‘Folk Songs of the American Longhair’.

This is another one of those songs I can never get enough of. There’s something really fancy about good ol’ southern rock wouldn’t you say?


So that’s it from me for now. Go ahead and enjoy the playlist I’ve put together for you. I’ll talk to you again real soon.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

