#53

Hello!

I’m back with another playlist for you- 

JamiroquaiHow many of you were pleasantly reminded of memories of this song from 96′? Jamiroquai with Virtual Insanity. The track is the second single from the British funk/acid jazz band’s third studio album. The song reached No. 3 on the UK Singles Chart and also charted at No. 38 on the Billboard Modern Rock Tracks.

“Virtual Insanity” is Jamiroquai’s best known music video. At the 1997 MTV Video Music Awards in September 1997, it earned ten nominations, winning four awards, including “Breakthrough Video” and the “Best Video of the Year.” In 2006, it was voted 9th by MTV viewers in a poll on music videos that ‘broke the rules.’

-Wikipedia


American post-grunge, hard rock band Staind for you now with Epiphany.

Epiphany is off the band’s third studio album ‘Break The Cycle’.Staind

It is Staind’s most successful album to date, and was the album that broke them into the mainstream. It was a huge international success for the band, as it spent 3 weeks at number 1 position in the U.S. album charts and many weeks in the top 10 album charts of The Billboard 200, the UK and New Zealand.

-Wikipedia

I really love this song. It’s thought-provoking as much as it is gentle and lulling. Beautiful lyrics all through. Lead vocalist Aaron Lewis has one of the most impressive voices I have heard till date. He also exhibits some very impressive control over it. It’s pretty evident all through the track. The man was ranked #49 in the Top 100 Heavy Metal Vocalists in 2006.


MuseMuse is one of my favourite progressive rock bands. I had actually decided on sharing another song by them, but then I heard Follow Me the other day and decided to share this instead.

I know I’ve talked about Matthew Bellamy’s very awesome voice before, but I don’t think I can simply go ahead without making a mention of it again. So here it is- I think Bellamy sounds breathtaking on this track. Just as he always does actually.

The track Follow Me is from the band’s very recent album ‘The 2nd Law’. It was co-produced by electronic music trio Nero.


If you tell me you’re not a fan of The Doobie Brothers, I swear I’ll judge you. If you say you hadn’t heard of them till date, I should probably excuse you this once, but meh. I’d still be pretty bummed at you. The Doobie Brothers are one hell of a classic rock band. From the best musical decade- the 70s, this Californian band has sold more than 40 million albums worldwide throughout their career which spanned over 5 decades. The song I chose to share with you is called Black Water.The Doobie Brothers

There’s just so much I could point out about their music and label as awesome. I’ll give you three. One, there’s that dash of Southern American rock that always stands out. Two, if there’s elements of Southern rock, it’s almost synonymous that there would be elements of country rock too. You’ll find that on Black Water. Three, there’s a bunch of guys with really cool voices and musicality.

In short, all 4 minutes and 20 seconds of this song is pure musical delight! The best of the 70s indeed! (Yeah, I’m a big 70s rock fan.)


Club des BelugasTo close this playlist I decided on a track by German group Club des Belugas. The track is called Glorious Beach Livin’.

I probably owe credit to my brother for this one. I tried to do some research on the band and it all turned up in German. So as far as my German goes (which includes a vocabulary of about 15 words and nothing else), Club des Belugas is a nu-jazz and lounge band from Germany, active since the year 2002. The track Glorious Beach Livin’ is from the group’s 2012 album ‘Forward’.

Something else I could tell you- the lady on voice is Anna Luca who is a solo performer and is also a part of the group.


Another playlist opened and closed this week. I hope it doesn’t seem like I am rushing these, because that’s not what I intend. Either way, my musical taste isn’t compromised, so I’m hoping you’re enjoying these plays.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

