#52

I decided to take about 40 to 50 minutes this very windy, slightly chilly, and rather gloomy morning to type-in another post. I’ll keep it short, but I hope the songs I’ve chosen will make up for it.

What better way to start a day like this than with Pink Floyd’s On The Turning Away right? I swear I just cannot Pink Floydhave enough of this band. Call me old school if you will, it doesn’t matter. Floyd’s music is simply beyond anything else I have ever experienced. And I’m pretty sure I am not the only one feeling this.

On The Turning Away is uplifting, motivating, and touching, beyond words can describe. You’ve got to experience it to know what I mean.


Foster The PeopleThis next song was a must-listen-to-at-least-once-a-day routine at my place about 2 or 3 years back. Foster The People’s music has always been the upbeat groovy kind. There’s a good chance you have already heard this one, but if not, you’ll like it. The song is called Don’t Stop (Color on the Walls).

I just watched the music video for this track for the first time. It features American actress of ‘Precious’ fame, Gabourey Sidibe.


Nearly everyone has heard Gloria Gaynor’s iconic I Will Survive right? In some way or the other, everyone has. TheSister Kat track has been featured in so many shows, movies, adverts, there’s no count now. I decided to share with you a cover of the track by Sister Kat.

Unlike Gaynor’s, Sister Kat’s voice is a lot on the gentler side; but then she does this jazz cover of the song and the result is actually quite impressive. It’s a good listen.

There’s not a lot of information about Sister Kat online. I did some research and then I was afraid I could be mixing information up with the other “Sister Kats” out there. So I decided not to share any info here at all.


Bon JoviGood ol’ Bon Jovi now with a good ol’ 86′ classic called Dead Or Alive. This was actually a song suggestion by a friend. I’d put it on the list and then completely forgotten about it. Sorry about that pal.

You don’t need me to tell you much about Bon Jovi or about this particular track. Just found this out though- “The song was certified quadruple platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America in 2015″- Wikipedia.


I had heard this song, When It’s Gone, It’s Gone by Bruce Cockburn very recently. I assumed it was one of those artists who weren’t very well known. Doing some research has left me feeling absolutely disappointed at myself. Bruce Cockburn has had a musical career spanning over 40 years and has even won a lot of awards and honours.Bruce Cockburn

In case you didn’t know him before right now, Bruce Cockburn is a Canadian guitarist, singer and songwriter. He has mostly worked in genres of folk and jazz-rock. His music almost always covers a broad range of topics that reveal a passion for human rights, politics and spirituality.

And on that note, I leave you with When It’s Gone, It’s Gone. I hope it instills in you a deep sense of calm.


Feels nice to have written three posts in a week. I don’t intend to do this too often, but for now, as long as I can keep it up, I will.

Until next time then.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

