#50

I realize it’s been close to three weeks since my last post. As much as it bothers me to have become so irregular with my playlists/posts, it pains me more that there was nothing I could have done to change that. I have now made a vow to myself stating that I will not only make up for all the missing posts, but also be very punctual with posts in the future weeks.

With all that having been said, here’s playlist #50 for you- 

Kick-starting this playlist is the late 90s Canadian new wave-indie rock band metric Metricwith a track from their first recorded album ‘Grow Up and Blow Away’. The track is called White Gold.

I tried following the lyrics to this song several times, but it has still failed to inspire meaning to me. The song however, is a beauty. Emily Haines’ gentle voice is something I could listen to forever. Only just now did I find out that Haines was born in New Delhi, India; not a citizen though. Meh. Makes no difference to me either way.


I am now sharing with you a song by Welsh rock band Stereophonics. The song is called Mr. Writer.

StereophonicsThe track is the first single off the band’s third album. It reached #5 in the UK Charts. An interesting story surrounding the song-

It was written in response to a journalist who had toured with the band and had later given them negative reviews. The song has been attributed as one of the factors that has caused the group’s uneasy relationship with the media.

-Wikipedia

After the song Maybe Tomorrow, (which I had shared with you a long time back), this is my next favourite Stereophonics song. Kelly Jones has one of the most unique voices in the industry, and if you ask me, that’s exactly what makes this track so special.


Here’s a beautiful gentle song for you by Samuel Beam (stage name- Iron & Wine). TheIron and Wine song is called Such Great Heights.

Samuel Beam is an American folk musician who is quite the multi-instrumentalist. I think I heard this song on Jango Radio, and I noted it down immediately to share it with you when I did. I hope it instills in you the kind of calming emotions that it did in me.

PS. Is it just me, or does this guy look EXACTLY like Zach Galifianakis?!


The BeatlesHere’s taking you all the way back to the 60s, with a Beatles classic called You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away.

I just spent the past 2 odd minutes watching the music video for the song, and I can’t help but be amused. The simplicity of it all is just so charming. That, and this is one really beautiful song.

I am going to put this one down on my list of songs to try out while jamming with the guys. Makes for a perfectly relaxing evening of classics and unwinding.


Chris Cornell now with the song Scream from his third solo studio album ‘Scream’.Chris Cornell

I’ve known this man well enough through his work with bands Soundgarden and Audioslave. As a solo artist? Not that much, no. This is only the second track I’ve heard by him. And I really really dig it. Just watched the music video for the song as well, and I thought it was creative. Chris Cornell looks amazing all through the 4 odd minutes duration. Plus, he reminded me of what I’m like in public most of the time.


So there’s playlist #50 for you. Should’ve made 50 a long time ago, but anyway. I’ll be back again real soon with another.

Until then.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

