#46

Hey!

It’s good to be back with another post and playlist this week. Some of these tracks have been on my mind since a longer period and I finally decided to share them here. I hope you enjoy!

So this first track I have for you by Aerosmith is quite an old one. Came out in 93′ and was a hit for a long time. It’s the first single from the band’s 11th studio album ‘Get A Grip’- Livin’ On The Edge.

This song has some history for me. It’s probably one of those tracks I was hooked onto while I was at that transitioning phase between rap-rock to classic-rock. I heard it again recently on a Sunday morning and despite how many times I’ve heard it before, listening to it then made me really think about it; and then I decided to go ahead and share it here.


YunaThis next track that I have for you is something so delightfully soothing and beautiful to listen to, you would be transported to a land of “feels”. I’m giving you Langit by Yuna.

In case you were wondering why it sounds so familiar to you, it’s a soundtrack to the movie The Interview. This track was actually originally written for the short film by Malaysian Airlines called ‘Terbang’, which you must watch btw.

Yuna is a popular Malaysian singer, songwriter and businesswoman. Her gentle voice works in perfect harmony with the indie and folk genres she works in.


I had heard this one quite a long time back on my stereo. I’m not sure how I have it on Kyussme really. My brother and I share a vast collection of music and some of it has its credit to a cousin of ours so it could be one of his. It’s American hard rock/ heavy metal band Kyuss with Space Cadet.

From the band’s 1994  stoner rock/neo-psychedelic album ‘Welcome To Sky Valley’, Space Cadet is a part of Movement II of the same album.

I am a Kyuss rookie so I don’t have a lot of experience to gather from, I however really love the eerie calm that seems to be screaming at me on this track. Being a big fan of the psychedelic movement, this track definitely pleases me.


A Perfect CircleFrom the American rock supergroup A Perfect Circle’s debut album ‘Mer de Noms’, I give you their first single. It’s called Judith.

There’s an interesting bit about the tracks on this album. Apparently, most of the album’s lyrics were dedicated to the various people that lead singer Maynard Keenan knew, and hence the song titles are such. Judith is Track #4. Keenan explains that the song is about his mother Judith Marie Keenan, who suffered a stroke and was restricted to a wheelchair for the rest of her life, yet still believed in Christianity. So yeah, definitely some deep stuff right here.

It’s honestly an awesome song. I can never get enough of it. Might be a bit heavy for some of you out there, but the emotion in the song is such so I think it has been conveyed aptly.


For the last song on this playlist, I decided to share something from the motherland. It’sMonali Thakur Monali Thakur with the song Moh Moh Ke Dhaage. The song is from the 2015 Bollywood film (which I will admit I have not watched) Dum Laga Ke Haisha.

Anybody who knows me well will be pleasantly surprised at my knowing of this song. I will not take credit for it though. A friend of mine and I have been trying to cover some tracks together, piano and voice, and she got me to listen to this one. I fell in love with the song almost instantly.

It’s simple really- I enjoy good music, irrespective of the genre. And Good music would comprise good lyrical qualities, good musical direction (preferably a little challenging), and it should convey emotion. This song does all of that, and so perfectly. And I think I should add, Monali Thakur has such a delicate clear voice, I could listen to it forever.

Go here if you’re curious about the meaning of the song- http://www.bollymeaning.com/2015/02/ye-moh-moh-ke-dhaage-lyrics-translation.html


So that’s it from me this week. I will be talking to you again real soon.

Until then,

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

