#43

Hey!

I had some fun putting together this week’s playlist, so I really hope you like it.

POO498_042-060I was introduced to the beautiful India Arie with her angelic voice by a friend of mine a couple of weeks back. I decided to go ahead and share a track by the lady on this playlist. The track I picked is a mellow one called Beautiful Surprise.

I cannot believe I didn’t know her music for so many years. She’s been singing since over 14 years now, and has sold over 3.3 million records in the US alone.

This song Beautiful Surprise is off her second album ‘Voyage To India’, which released in 2002. Apparently, the album’s title comes from a track by Arie’s idol Stevie Wonder from his 1979 album Journey Through the Secret Life of Plants.


The King of Pop music for you now with a song which is a favourite of mine. It’s called Michael JacksonDirty Diana.

I think I’ve said this the previous times I’ve shared songs by Michael Jackson, but I’ll say it anyway- I simply love the structure on all of his songs! And it’s just sheer brilliance that each one is so different from the others. In fact, if you ask me, I would say Michael Jackson’s music spans a lot more genres than just pop. And he’s quite simply the king of them all!

On Dirty Diana, what captivates me most is the evident emotion in the man’s voice. Such perfection the way he sings it as well. And is it just me or is this melody just crazily catchy?


Hugh LaurieI decided to throw in another track from Hugh Laurie’s 2013 album ‘Didn’t It Rain’. This time I picked track #1 on the album- a cover of the Saint Louis Blues.

It is absolutely needless to say Hugh Laurie is a brilliant musician, a genius actor, and an awesome personality. His second studio album ‘Didn’t It Rain’ is very Bluesy and Jazzy and this version of The St. Louis Blues that you are listening to will testify that. You also get to hear American soul singer Jean McClain (maybe you know her as Pepper Mashay) somewhere at 2 minutes and 40 seconds into the song. Such a powerful voice that.


Sometime I wonder how despite having already shared 42 other playlists, I still missedDave Matthews Band out on artists like these. I’m talking about Dave Matthews Band. Just the other day I heard the song Where Are You Going? play on my stereo and the thought occurred to me. It was pretty much decided right there that this song would make this week’s playlist.

Dave Matthews band are without a doubt one of those artists for all seasons. Their music is just so pleasing and beautiful. There is really no rating any of their songs that I have heard. I like them all the same.

On that note, I hope you enjoy this one.

(Ps. All you House MD fans out there. Did the episode guest starring Dave Matthews come to mind?)


Chris BrownThis last song that I’m sharing, I heard on the music platform Grooveshark. It just showed up on the home page the minute I logged in. I wasn’t expecting anything when I clicked “Play”, but I was hooked within the first 15 seconds of listening to it.

The song is called In The Kitchen, and is by Chris Brown.

I’m not exactly sure about this Chris Brown personality. For one, I’m pretty sure this is not the very popular rapper Chris Brown that all of the world knows. I tried to do some research but not a lot is available about this artist, this song, or the album that it is from (which is called ‘Now That You’re Fed’ btw). But anyway, it’s a nice catchy song. The genre is called orchestrated pop. That was new to me too.


I hope you enjoy listening to these songs I shared this week. It’s a very lively playlist and I have had tons of fun listening to the tracks as I typed in this piece.

Go ahead and send in your suggestions, if you have any. They are most welcome.

Until next week then.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

