#40

I should have been writing post #41 today. I delayed by a whole week. Unacceptable, I know. I’ll probably write my next post in just three days or so to try and restore balance as much as I can.

Apologies for the delay. Here’s playlist #40 for you: 

Steve VaiThe last ‘Steve Vai’ you heard from me was way way back on playlist #1. It was the first track I’d shared on this blog as well. The one I share with you today is called For The Love Of God. From the man’s album ‘Passion and Warfare’ I believe this track contains very evident elements of both passion and war; more of the passion really.

That’s my take on it anyway.


Better Man for you now, by the very popular 90s American grunge rock  band Pearl Jam. ThisPearl Jam one is without a doubt my favourite Pearl Jam song. It’s got very deep beautiful lyrics, a really nice melody, and I believe Eddie Vedder genuinely feels the whole song and sings it from the heart. He wrote this song, and  revealed that it was clearly dedicated to the man who married his mother and later divorced her.

The track remained at #1 on the Billboard Mainstream Rock Tracks chart for a total of eight weeks.


Shawn Lee's Ping Pong OrchestraThis next track, I had heard on several lounge and chillout music stations. It’s called Kiss The Sky and is by Shawn Lee’s Ping Pong Orchestra. The minute I’d heard it I loved it. It’s got that very relaxed feel to it, and yet it’s steady and driving.

Shawn Lee is an American multi-instrumentalist and video game composer who’s music spans the wide range between jazz and electronica.


And now for some more 90s rock with Collective Soul and their 2004 hit Better Now.Collective Soul

You’ve probably heard this song in a couple of advertisements, TV shows or in a movie or two. It’s catchy that way. Upbeat, energetic, loud and very hard to dislike. And the whole “I’m feeling better now” thing in the song works perfectly wherever it’s been used.

Is it just me or does Ed Roland sound incredible on this track?


The BreedersThere’s an amusing story to this last song.

Back when we used to listen to WorldSpace satellite radio at home (that was easily about ten years back), the alternative rock station we used to tune into called “Bob” would play this song Cannonball by American alternative rock band from the 90s ‘The Breeders’. My brother and I really liked the track but we had no idea what it was called or who the artist was. About a month or so back, he’s working on something at the PC and he yells at me to come and listen to what he was listening to, visible excitement in his voice. The only thing he says to me is “You remember that song Bob used to play? Wait, listen to this, you’ll know.” And sure, I listened.

It only took listening for about 3 seconds for my face to light up and for the entire song to play in my head, and all from memory! And that felt so good.

I hope you enjoy this one.


And that’s playlist #40 for you. My next one will be out in less than a week like I mentioned at the top of this post.

Until then.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

