#36

Hello world.

I’d been delaying posting the past two weeks and so guilt finally taking over, I’m sharing this one in less than 7 days.

Here’s what I have for you this week-

Just FYI, I’m actually listening to Canto De Ossanha (from post #34) right now. I haven’t yet been able to get enough of that simply marvelous piece of work! Looks like I’ll wear this one out.

Coming back to this post, the first track I have for you is by Los Angeles based musical duo Bitter:Sweet and is called Don’t Forget To Breathe.

Bitter:SweetBitter:Sweet is an electronic/trip-hop/jazz band formed in 2006, comprising Shana Halligan (the vocalist/songwriter) and Kiran Shahani (the musical composer). A lot of the band’s music has featured on several sitcoms and shows over the years.

The track I’m sharing with you is track #1 from the duo’s debut album ‘The Mating Game’.

Yes I heard this one on one of the chillout stations I was tuned in to.

Getting predictable now aren’t I? 🙂


Good ol’ Oasis now with the first single from their sixth album. The track is called Lyla.Oasis

Noel Gallagher jokes that this track isn’t even the fifth best track from the album ‘Don’t Believe The Truth’ but I like it a lot. I can’t really grade any Oasis song I’ve heard though, I seem to enjoy them all the same.

The song does get annoyingly repetitive, but you have to admit it’s catchy. Here are a few things I dig about it-

1. Noel Gallagher’s voice

2. The way Noel Gallagher says Lyla (He says it exactly the same way all 16 times)

3. That it’s got such a great melody


Sarah MclachlanThis is my second Sarah Mclachlan share and the song I chose this time is Fumbling Towards Ecstasy.

Fumbling Towards Ecstasy is the title track to her third album, which is also regarded as her best selling album till date.

I know I’ve said this before, when I shared my first Sarah Mclachlan song with you, but I will say it again- I really love the woman’s voice. It’s hauntingly beautiful and comforting. And almost all her music has that gentle soothing effect on you.


Have you heard The Kooks before? If not, you’ve been missing out on some really good music. Try this track She Moves In Her Own Way for starters.

In case you don’t know the band, The Kooks are as British as a band can get. Their music could The Kooksmostly be called indie/post-punk/britpop. Good stuff basically. The track you’re listening to is from their debut album ‘Inside In/Inside Out’.

I really do want to take the time to talk about Luke Pritchard’s accent. It’s just so addictive! I’ve listened to the song three times on loop now only because I CANNOT get enough of the way he says everything! I’m not the only one who digs that accent though. I was just doing some research into the band and I found several pages dedicated to Pritchard’s accent alone.


The last song on today’s playlist is by an artist from before my time. I have for you The Celia Cruz with Quimbara.

Celia CruzI’ve been learning Salsa dancing since three months, now and about a month back I decided to add some salsa music on my device. That’s when I came across this Cuban-American salsa singer with one of the most astounding voices I have ever heard. There is just so much power and command in Celia Cruz’s voice, you can’t help but imagine she must have been a very self made woman in her time. And I really like that.

Found this bit about her on Wikipedia-

One of the most popular salsa artists of the 20th century, she earned twenty-three gold albums and was a recipient of the National Medal of Arts. She was renowned internationally as the “Queen of Salsa”, “La Guarachera de Cuba”, as well as The Queen of Latin Music.


And thus ends playlist #36. I’ve enjoyed listening to all the tracks I shared with you today as I typed in this piece. I hope you feel the same as you listen to it.

I’ll be back in about a week.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

