#34

It’s 12:27 in the afternoon on the 14th of February as I write this post. I’m listening to the first track on this week’s playlist and I think I chose the right song to start with, it seems to put me in the right state of mind and emotion.

INXSFor those of you who aren’t too familiar with the band INXS, the singer J.D. Fortune, the reality series Rock Star: INXS, or the song Afterglow, this little write-up might help.

I wasn’t too familiar with INXS either until sometime in the year 2005 my entire household got engrossed with the show Rock Star: INXS where 15 contestants competed to become the lead vocalist for this Australian rock band. JD Fortune of course, won the contest.

Following the series, on November 29, 2005, the band released the studio album ‘Switch’ with J.D. Fortune on lead vocals.

The song Afterglow was a tribute to Michael Hutchence, one of INXS’ founders, who was alleged to have committed suicide in 1997.

I have heard more songs by the band with Michael Hutchence than with JD Fortune singing, and I think they’re both incredible in their own ways. While Michael’s voice always gave INXS’ music a smoother finesse, JD Fortune has a more powerful voice which sort of changes INXS’ style altogether.


Just yesterday my brother and I were talking about Tom Petty and how he’s another one of those artists we listen to whose music is entirely likeable. Tom PettyI’m sharing with you the lead single from the man’s 1994 album ‘Wildflowers’- You Don’t Know How It Feels.  The song reached number one on the Billboard Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks chart and number 13 on the Billboard Hot 100. The song’s music video also won the MTV Video Music Award for Best Male Video in 1995.

If that didn’t induce you enough to regard the man, try this:

He has recorded a number of hit singles with the Heartbreakers and as a solo artist, many of which remain heavily played on adult contemporary and classic rock radio. His music has been classified as rock and roll, heartland rock and even stoner rock. His music, and notably his hits, have become popular among younger generations as he continues to host sold-out shows. Throughout his career, Petty has sold more than 80 million records worldwide, making him one of the best-selling artist of all time. In 2002, he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

-Wikipedia


White LionI think I’d heard this song on WorldSpace Satellite radio, but I couldn’t be sure. Uncertainty put aside, I heard it over 15 years back. I’m talking about the popular song When The Children Cry by Danish/American 80s band White Lion.

It isn’t hard to decipher what this song is all about. Many of the band’s songs revolve around social issues and When The Children Cry was undoubtedly their biggest American hit.


English rock band Kasabian now with the song La fée verte.Kasabian

Absinthe is a distilled, highly alcoholic beverage and is commonly referred to in historical literature as “la fée verte” (the green fairy).

The inspiration for this song came to Kasibian guitarist and lead songwriter Serge Pizzorno in the summer of 2009 when he found a £20,000 bottle of antique absinthe on a German website. He told Q magazine that it was the stuff that Hemingway and Piccaso used to drink, and though tempted, he eventually decided not to buy the vintage highly alcoholic beverage.

Pizzorno also described the song as a psychedelic tune about those moments when you look around and think the dream is over, and the only thing left to do is pull out the absinthe and head for oblivion.


Jack JohnsonAhh.. I have been waiting on this song on this playlist. It’s just one of those really beautiful sounding pieces of work that words won’t do justice to if you tried describing.

I’m not going to ruin it for you. I suggest you put on your noise cancelling headphones, drown out the rest of the world, and give in to Jack Johnson as he melts you with Never Fade for the next 4 odd minutes.

Again, another one of those artists where every single track I’ve heard is simply delightful to listen to.

This is probably me getting all soft and mushy (the song does that to you). Thank You Jack Johnson.


This next track that I’m sharing with you is one I heard quite a few months back on one of the chillout stations I used to tune in to frequently. It’s Jurassic 5American alternative hip-hop group from the 90s, Jurassic 5 with Canto De Ossanha. If my judgement isn’t compromised or anything such, I’m thinking you’ll love the track as much as I did. Canto De Ossanha is 4 minutes and 20 seconds of lively pick-me-up music with very appealing guitar work, and just the right amounts of electro and hip-hop.

I’m a little confused about whose version of this track is the original. I’ve listening to three different tracks now, all with the skeleton of the song and then their own variations, and all three are simply beautiful!

Anyway, enjoy Jurassic 5’s version of it.


RadioheadIf you know me any better by now, you’d know that sooner or later there will be a Radiohead song blended into a playlist. And at predictable intervals. The song I picked for today’s playlist is Pyramid Song, the first single from the band’s  2001 album ‘Amnesiac’ and the first Radiohead single released in over three years.

I know I’ve said this a lot, but I simply CANNOT get enough of Radiohead. Off late I’ve discovered more of their music, mostly tracks similar to this one, with more piano work than otherwise, and I’m loving these tracks more than I’ve loved a lot of other songs.

Pyramid song is just perfect on so many levels. It starts off slow, mellow, gentle… Thom Yorke taking his time with it though the first verse. And then, just when you’re being taken to another place, the drums trickle in and give the song an entirely new identity.

The lyrics, despite being scanty, speak volumes.

I really hope you love this one.


That brings me to a close on playlist #34. I’d initially thought of sharing just 5 songs, but then out of nowhere, I decided on the last two tracks. And I’m glad I incorporated them here. It’s been a pleasure sharing them with you.

Until next week.

Happy Listening!

One thought on “#34

Leave a Reply

