#30

Hey there. Playlist #30 is here and I’m pretty excited about it’s reception. I’ve put together an interesting bunch of songs and what makes this playlist an interesting listen I think, is how these tracks complement each other on the playlist. Take a look at what I have for you this week-

Arctic MonkeysKicking things off are the Arctic Monkeys with When The Sun Goes Down. The song is the second single from the band’s debut album ‘Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not’. It tells an interesting story, I’m not going to elaborate on it right now but you could read up on it here- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/When_the_Sun_Goes_Down_(Arctic_Monkeys_song)#Content

I’ve always enjoyed listening to the Arctic Monkeys. The thing about their music is it’s always quirky. And you can very evidently feel the energy these guys possess and incorporate into all of their tracks. I love Alex Turner’s voice and I really dig the English accent on him! This track has some very impressive drum work as well (I’ll be honest, my brother pointed that out to me).

Loud energetic song to start with I thought.


Now some trip-hop from British band Portishead. The track is called Cowboys.Portishead

A little about the band- Portishead, formed in 91′ and named after a nearby town with the same name, consists of Geoff Barrow, Beth Gibbons and Adrian Utley, and sometimes a fourth member Dave McDonald. The track Cowboys is Track #1 from the band’s self-titled second album which released in 97′.

I first heard Cowboys about three weeks back and I immediately noted it down to share on one of my playlists here. I’m not exactly sure what the track is about. Sounds political of sorts. I’ll leave that bit to your interpretation and hope you enjoy it.


Cat StevensCat Stevens (now Yusuf Islam) is a British singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, humanitarian, and education philanthropist. And I love his music. You’ll probably know him for the song Wild World.

The song I love more and am sharing with you is Peace Train.

Peace Train” is the title of a 1971 hit song by Cat Stevens, taken from his album ‘Teaser And The Firecat. The song climbed to #7 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart during the week of October 9, 1971, becoming Stevens’ first US Top 10 hit. The song also spent three weeks at #1 on the adult contemporary chart.

-Wikipedia


Little Wing for you now by The man Jimi Hendrix. I cannot say this is my favourite Jimi Hendrix song, but it certainly is one among.Jimi-Hendrix

Little Wing was written by Hendrix and recorded by The Jimi Hendrix Experience in 1967. At just about 2 and a half minutes long, the track is definitely his most concise and melodically-focused pieces. I believe Hendrix is talking about a guardian angel like figure in the song. It’s awfully simple in terms of lyric, and definitely not Jimi Hendrix at his best on guitar, but ultimately a really nice track.


Velevt RevolverThis is a version of the popular song Psycho Killer that I like. It’s a cover by American supergroup Velvet revolver.

Velvet Revolver consists of former Guns N’ Roses members Slash, Duff McKagan and Matt Sorum, alongside Dave Kushner formerly of punk band Wasted Youth and Stone Temple Pilots vocalist Scott Weiland who left the band in 2008.

The track Psycho Killer was originally composed by  David Byrne, Chris Frantz and Tina Weymouth and first played by their band The Artistics in 1974, and as new wave band Talking Heads in 1975. A later version of the song was recorded for their 1977 album ‘Talking Heads: 77’.

I am not really a big fan of either band, but this one cover by Velvet Revolver really appeals to me. It retains the basic structure of the song by the Talking heads, incorporating a lot more quirk and rock into it in the process. Brilliantly covered if you ask me.


I heard this one on Sunday, on the Hit 70s station on radiotunes.com. I found the song very catchy and decided to share it with you. It’s Sheena Sheena EastonEaston with Morning Train.

Now I’m confused whether the song’s title is “9 to 5” or “Morning Train”. According to the research I just did, the track was originally called 9 to 5 but was later renamed to avoid confusing it with Dolly Parton’s 9 to 5.

9 to 5/ Morning Train is also Sheena’s biggest hit from her debut album “Take My Time’.


Adhitia SofyanI should thank my dad for introducing me to this track called After The Rain by Indonesian musician Adhitia Sofyan.

Now Adhitia will probably need a little introducing, budding talent that he is.

He started to write acoustic tunes in late 2007, and after he sent some of his songs to an independent chart on a radio station, which two of his songs “Adelaide Sky” and “Memilihmu” made it into number ones, his music journey began.

Now Adhitia performs on various events based on invitation.

https://adhitiasofyan.wordpress.com/about/

I have not yet heard any other track by the man, but I cannot imagine a song more beautiful. After The Rain is simply astounding. From his gentle firm clear voice to the strong strumming of his guitar, After The Rain is the kind of song that fills you with a feeling of pure simplicity and calm. I’ve listening to the song 4 times on loop now and I CANNOT get enough of it!

Best way to close a playlist yet.


That’s playlist #30 for you. I cannot believe I’ve already reached the 30 mark. Weeks go by pretty fast.

I’ll be back with 7 more songs for you in about a week. Until then.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

