#28

Sorry I’m late with this post. Been out of town a lot and unable to write.

It’s the second week after Christmas here in India and despite the excitement of the season simmering down quite a bit, we’re still listening to the season’s music, enjoying every last bit of it before we put it all away for another year. So as a result, I’ll be sharing with you several of my favourite versions of Christmas carols by a variety of artists.

Take a look at playlist #28: 

StingThere couldn’t have been a better carol or artists to start this week’s playlist off with. I chose Sting’s simply beautiful version of Gabriel’s message.

“Gabriel’s Message” or “The angel Gabriel from heaven came” is a Basque Christmas folk carol about the Annunciation to the Virgin Mary by the archangel Gabriel that she would become the mother of Jesus Christ the Son of God. It quotes the biblical account of that event and Mary’s Magnificat with the opening lines:

The angel Gabriel from heaven came,

his wings as drifted snow, his eyes as flame;

“All hail”, said he, “thou lowly maiden Mary,

most highly favoured lady.” Gloria.

-Wikipedia.

The version you’re listening to is track #1 from Sting’s ninth album ‘If On A Winter’s Night’, released in 2009.


I heard this one three days back playing on my stereo, and it left me with a nice feeling. Thought I’ll share that feeling with you too. The song is Crosby, Stills, NashHelplessly Hoping by Crosby, Stills, Nash.

You have got to admire how beautiful this song’s structure is. It’s got some pretty deep and beautiful lyrics, and the voices on the track are a gentle calming lull. A very simple song otherwise.

The track is from the American folk rock group’s self titled album.


Jessica Simpson & Nick LacheyI’m now giving you Jessica Simpson and Nick Lachey with their rendition of the Christmas classic Baby, It’s Cold Outside.

In my opinion, this is the best version of the song there is. I think every other duet by every other artist gets rather monotonous, but not this one. I will however admit, I dislike Jessica Simpson’s voice. It’s a little too “Barbie Doll” like for my liking.

That being said, it’s still a really well done duet. I’m guessing the track isn’t new to you. Go ahead and enjoy it in the spirit of Christmas either way!


I first heard Tom Odell online on Absolute radio and I knew this was an artist to bookmark and come back to. I’m sharing with you the first track I Tom Odellheard by the man. It’s called Can’t Pretend.

Thomas Odell is a 24 year old English singer-songwriter. He released his debut EP, ‘Songs From Another Love’ in 2012 and won the BRITs Critics’ Choice Award in early 2013.

I’m not taking a lot of trouble elaborating on each artist since I’m already late with this post. I however guarantee you will love this track.


Fred HammondI’m unsure of how familiar you might be with Fred Hammond or his rendition of the popular Christmas carol Go Tell It On The Mountain. From personal experience, not a lot of people have heard this track. I got to know about it through the ‘WOW Christmas’ series. I’m not too fond of the traditional carol at all, but Fred Hammond’s version of it is just so different and beautiful, I listen to it over and over sometimes.


Some alternative/hard rock from South African band Seether for you now with their track Driven Under.

SeetherThe track is the second single off their 2002 debut album ‘Disclaimer’.

Driven Under is a rather simple structured song, mostly falling within two chords, except for the bridge where things get less predictable. Good track nonetheless. I find lead vocalist Shaun Morgan’s voice haunting. All the time. It’s the kind of voice you can’t forget easily.


EnyaLast song on this playlist and probably the last carol you’ll hear from me for a year or so- it’s Enya with O Come, O Come, Emmanuel.

I doubt there are people who have heard Enya and said they disliked her music. Haunting, yes. Very. But the beauty with which she brings it out is simply mesmerizing. O Come, O Come, Emmanuel is a perfect example of what I’m talking about. I thought it was the perfect carol to close off the season with on my blog.


Sorry about the delay in publishing the post again. On the plus side, you’ll see my next post in less than 5 days from today. Until then.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

