#26

Hi there.

I believe it’s safe to say the playlist I’ve put together for you this week is very inclined to rock music, 60% of it being modern rock. I’m however pretty sure you’ll enjoy them.

Track 1 is by Scottish band Biffy Clyro and is called Many Of Horror.Biffy Clyro

Biffy Clyro formed some time in 95′ in Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, comprising Simon Neil (guitar, lead vocals), James Johnson (bass, vocals) and Ben Johnston (drums, vocals). They have released six studio albums, three of which three reached the top five in the UK Albums Chart, with their sixth studio album Opposites claiming their first UK number one album.

Many Of Horror is one of the four or so songs I’ve heard by the band and I like it best. I have to give credit to my brother for insisting I listen to it as many times as he made me do it. I never used to be a Biffy Clyro person initially. God knows why.


Photo of Dr. Hook & The Medicine ShowAnd now taking you back to the 70s with Dr. Hook and The Medicine Show and their third single which peaked at number six on the U.S. pop chart- Cover Of The Rolling Stone.

I’m not going to say much and ruin it for you if you haven’t heard this one before. It’s a great song really, so much fun to listen to.

Ps. you need to pay attention to the song to really enjoy it. 🙂


Some hard rock for you now with Californian based band Queens Of The Stone Age. The track you’re listening to is The Sky Is Fallin.Queens Of The Stone Age

A lot of noise I know. But I think it’s pretty enjoyable and addictive music. The Sky Is Fallin is track #5 from the band’s third studio album ‘Songs For The deaf’. The album garnered critical acclaim, and the band earned its first gold record certification in the United States, after selling 986,000 copies. One million copies of the album were sold in Europe. The album also features The Foo Fighters’ drummer Dave Grohl as guest drummer.

I’d like to think you’ll enjoy the song.


ColdplayI’ve been trying this one out on the piano. I am simply in love with the song. It’s Coldplay with the OST for The Hunger Games: Catching Fire- Atlas.

The song was written specifically for ‘Catching Fire’ and marks the first time that Coldplay have ever recorded an original song for a motion picture, or any piece of media outside the music industry.

‘Atlas’ has charted in 16 countries and reached top ten positions in three of them, and has also received mostly positive reviews from music critics. The ballad, which is the first song ever written and recorded by Coldplay for a film, won the Hollywood Song Award at the 17th Hollywood Film Awards, and was nominated for a Grammy Award for ‘Best Song Written for Visual Media’ and a Golden Globe Award for ‘Best Original Song’.

-Wikipedia

If you haven’t heard this one before, I’m pretty sure you’ll thank me.


I decided to close this playlist off with a Christmas Carol. And I chose The Beach Boys with Little Saint Nick.The Beach Boys

The song was first released as a single on December 9, 1963, and peaked at number 3 on Billboard magazine’s special seasonal weekly Christmas Singles chart.

Little Saint Nick is one fun uplifting carol, and to listen to The Beach Boys sing it is a treat. I’ve always loved listening to The Beach Boys. The simplicity of the music, those perfectly synchronized voices. Such balance and beauty in such simple music. It’s truly remarkable. Little Saint Nick is no exception. It’s only 2 minutes 12 seconds long and you wouldn’t mind listening to it again. You might also find yourself crooning along.


Only 5 songs for you today and I hope you enjoy them. I’ll be seeing you again in about 7 days. You could also look forward to another carol or too. It’s all in the season after all.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

