#25

I hate that I’ve delayed yet again in posting this week’s playlist. Christmas is here and it’s keeping me busy. Take a look at the songs I’ve picked for you this week: 

There’s this excitement in me with regard to every first song I share. I take great care in picking out something that’ll grab your attention and you’ll thank me for. This week’s is THE man Hugh Laurie with The Weed Smoker’s Dream.Hugh Laurie Gaby MorenoHugh Laurie is next to God at my household. And if you’ve not known about his musical side before, you don’t know what you’ve been missing. This track I’ve picked has Mr. Laurie, the very distinct jazz pianist, accompanying Guatemalan singer Gaby Moreno, whose voice I completely fell for. The track is track #5 on Laurie’s 2013 album ‘Didn’t It Rain’. The album features a beautiful mix of blues, R&B, Tango and Jazz. The Weed Smoker’s Dream, a classical example.


The second song I’ve chosen is classic rock giants Def Leppard with When Love And Hate Collide.Def Leppard I picked this song in particular because I love the melody line! It’s  beautifully written, has a really nice Chorus, and despite it’s predictable love ballad structure, is very commendable. No doubt, there’s Def Leppard written all over it. You can always tell when it’s a Def Leppard song, and that’s a really cool thing. Their music is a unique sound and experience altogether. Hope you like this one.


LudoI’ve been meaning to share this for some time now but just didn’t seem to find the right place for it. I’m talking about Missouri based band Ludo with their popular track Love Me Dead. I don’t remember exactly when I heard this song, I think it was several years back when it played on WorldSpace Satellite Radio. I’d loved it since then. There’s not a single thing on this song I can’t rave about. Starting with it’s comic verses and amusing lyrical structure, to it’s very catchy melody line, to Andrew Volpe’s impressive and surprisingly very powerful voice. I honestly CANNOT get enough of this song.


Song 4 on this playlist is one a friend had suggested some time back, I decided this playlist was a good placeBon Jovi to put it. It’s Bon Jovi with Say It Isn’t So. The track was released in 2000 as the second single off their Grammy nominated album ‘Crush’. I’ve grown up listening to this song. Listening to it always brings back the memory of having played it on a ‘Bon Jovi Hits’ CD in the car. I was a little girl, my brother even younger, and the two of us had select favourite tracks from that CD which we’d keep playing on loop, always getting yelled at for fiddling with the music player too much. Ahh.. Good times those.


White TownI decided to give you some trip hop and electronica with the track Your Woman by White Town. I’ll bet you didn’t know this. White Town is a British musical act and is the work of one Indian-born man, Jyoti Prakash Mishra. White Town is best known for his song ‘Your Woman’, which reached number one in the UK Singles Chart in January 1997. The track also peaked at number one in Spain, as well as number two in Australia, number four in Canada, Denmark and Finland and number 23 in the United States. I don’t listen to a lot of electronica but there are certain tracks, like this one, that I think are great listens. Particularly when I’m working out.


My brother and I have been going on and on about Pink Floyd’s ‘The Endless Pink FloydRiver’, which is the final studio album by Brit psychedelic rock giants Pink Floyd. The album was out 10th November this year, and is based on 20 hours of unreleased material the band wrote, recorded and produced during sessions for Pink Floyd’s previous studio album The Division Bell (1994). The song I’m sharing with you is Allons-Y (1). I don’t need to introduce this band to you. I decided to share this track, doing my part promoting the album. It was created as a tribute to Richard Wright, one of the band’s founding members, who died in 2008. The Endless River is mostly an instrumental album, best listened to at a stretch. Each track complements the other.


Carla BruniI decided to give you Carla Bruni with Déranger les pierres to close off this week’s playlist. This track has a soft calming effect on you. Bruni has
such a haunting voice, her French sounding exquisite on the track. The song is from ‘Comme si de rien n’était’ (English: As If Nothing Had Happened), the third album of the Italian-French singer and previous French first lady. Déranger les pierres (English: Disturbing The Stones) is the 10th track on the album. ‘Comme si de rien n’était’ debuted at #3 on the French album chart the day after its release, selling 14,130 copies in two days. To date, the album sold 500,000 copies worldwide.


There you go. Seven more songs to listen to until I talk to you again. I hope you like them.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

