#23

Hey people!

It’s good to be back. The last I wrote a post was over three weeks back, and yes, I wasn’t really devoting a lot of my time into it then either. That having been said, I’m glad I let my friends cover for me while I wasn’t able to write myself. Added more variety and perspective to the blog. I hope you’ve enjoyed their playlists just as much as I did.

It’s good to be back.

The playlist I have for you today isn’t my own. The seven songs you’ll hear today are what my brother put together. If you’ve been following the blog for a while you’ll know my brother and I don’t really have varying taste in music. So you shouldn’t see much of a difference.

Here you go- 

Song one for today is from a band my brother enjoys more than I do. It’s Artificial Red by Mad Season.

Mad Season was an American super band formed in 1994 by members of the bands Alice In Chains, Pearl Jam and Screaming Trees. In case you’re Mad Seasoninterested, the band’s super members are Barrett Martin, drummer from Screaming Trees; Mike McCready, the lead guitarist of Pearl Jam and Layne Staley, the lead vocalist of Alice In Chains. The band stayed alive for very few years, after which attempts to reunite didn’t exactly go well.

It’s hard to actually tell the difference between Alice In Chains and Mad Season. Both draw heavily on post grunge sounds, and there’s Staley’s eerie droning voice that sort of completes the genre.

The song Artificial Red is primarily very blues-sounding, Staley’s voice lingering in between grunge and metal.


Now for some Van Morrison. The band ‘Them’ actually. It’s the 1964-65 song Gloria.

Van MorrisonVan Morrison is a Northern-Irish singer-songwriter and musician from the 40s. The man is popular for the wide variety of genres that he works with, and the number of instruments he plays. The song Gloria was written by Morrison while with the band Them, and released as the B-side of “Baby, Please Don’t Go”.

The song became a garage rock staple and a part of many rock bands’ repertoires. It is particularly memorable for its “G–L–O–R–I–A” chorus.

-Wikipedia


This song is one I surprisingly don’t remember having heard before. Surprising because my brother and I live in the same household. It’s kinda hard to not hear each other’s music. Anyway, the song is Blood On My Hands by Keren Ann.Keren Ann

Keren Ann Zeidel  is a singer, songwriter, composer, producer and engineer based largely in Paris, Tel Aviv, and New York City. She has released six solo albums. Many of her songs were performed by internationally acclaimed artists. Her music has been featured in many films and TV series, including: “Grey’s Anatomy”, “Six Feet Under”, “Big Love”, and “Deux Jours à Tuer”.

The song Blood On My Hands is actually really lively for one that talks about blood on hands. Rather typical and predictable a song in terms of structure, but catchy. It’s my third time listening to it on loop while writing this post, and I’m starting to like this one. You have to appreciate the balance of sounds and instruments on the song.


Guns N'RosesCivil War by the really popular band from the 80s, Guns N’ Roses, is my brother’s next song on this playlist.

I’m hoping you haven’t heard this one. It’s one of the lesser popular songs by the band, but the more I’ve heard it the more I realize I like it better than I like a lot of other popular Guns N’Roses songs. You can always tell when a song is a Guns N’Roses song. There’s a certain structure that their songs take. Civil War is no different.

It is a protest song on war, referring to all war as “civil war” and stating that war only “feeds the rich while it buries the poor”. In the song, singer Axl Rose asks, “What’s so civil about war, anyway?”

-Wikipedia


I don’t think I know a person who knows of Fleetwood Mac and does not enjoy their music. One of those bands for all seasons this one. The song on the playlist today is Sara.Fleetwood Mac

Sara” is a song written by singer-songwriter Stevie Nicks and released in an edited version, cut at 4:37 minutes long, by British-American pop/rock band Fleetwod Mac as a single from the 1979 Tusk double LP. The album version of the song runs at 6:22 minutes. The song peaked at #7 on the U.S. charts for three weeks, #37 in the UK for two weeks, #11 in Australia and #2 in Canada.

-Wikipedia

The song has been described as a commentary on the tangled relationships and love affairs in which the band members were participating in 1977-1978, but the final recorded version omitted most of this.


RadioheadSong 6 on today’s playlist is Radiohead with My Iron Lung. I think I’ve said this before, but bands like Radiohead grow on you- if you’re into their genre of music i.e. This song My Iron Lung is track #1 from the band’s 1995 album The Bends. The album features five charting singles, and also marked the beginning of a shift in aesthetics and themes for the band, with greater use of keyboards, and more abrasive guitar tracks balancing subtler ones.

The song’s caustic,self-reflexive lyrics used the iron lung as a metaphor for the way “Creep” had both sustained the band’s life and constrained them (“this is our new song / just like the last one / a total waste of time / my iron lung”).

-Wikipedia

What I love about this song, apart from the general beauty of it’s sound and tone, is how well executed it is. The song is an excellent balance between the soft and the heavy side of Radiohead.


Pigs (Three Different Ones) to close off this week’s playlist.Pink Floyd

I dunno if you’ve heard this one before. It’s from Floyd’s 1977 album Animals.

In the album’s three parts, “Dogs”, “Pigs” and “Sheep”, pigs represent the people whom Roger Waters considers to be at the top of the social ladder, the ones with wealth and power; they also manipulate the rest of society and encourage them to be viciously competitive and cutthroat, so the pigs can remain powerful.

-Wikipedia

In my opinion, this song is 11 minutes 26 seconds of sheer brilliance. It’s catchy first off. It’s got a really unusual and appealing riff. What my brother and I really dig about this track is the cowbell- it’s hypnotic. I don’t know what it is about Roger Waters’ voice and manner of singing on this track, but it’s extremely expressive and I believe nobody could have sung it better.

Go on and enjoy the track.


That’s the close of playlist #23. I know I’ve been quoting a lot from Wikipedia. I can’t help when I get lazy. 😀 I’d already postponed this post quite a bit.

I’ll talk to you again in a week, or less.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

