#22: The Extrimities- Post by a good friend, Aniket

Hey there, this is Aniket.

Lately, the Melomaniac has been busy with life related stuff and this has given me, like a few others whom you’ve seen write here before me, a chance to share some music with the world through her blog. My listening habits are not too big on music discovery. I spend more time listening to the same music that I’ve come to like over the years repeatedly. This will be an attempt to touch the extremes of my taste in music and share them in the form of a playlist. The commentary about the songs will mostly be my thoughts about the songs or some interesting factoids and they’re not going to be even close to as musical as Nadia’s is. So, let me get started.

Here’s the link to this playlist on Youtube – 

1. Lemon Tree by Fool’s Garden

Let me tell you a story. A few years ago I got my hands on the Pearl Jam discography from you-know-where and was playing randomly through the entire thing. I heard a song that sounded very different from the rest and I loved it! I went back to the music player and did what I do when I stumble upon a new track I like – I put it on loop. The sound was kinda laid back and fun, but the words gave it a tinge of sadness. I was used to Pearl Jam’s sound and was pleasantly surprised how different they made this one sound. It was much later that I figured out that that song was actually this song and it wasn’t by Pearl Jam but by a German band called Fool’s Garden.

2. Your Hand in Mine by Explosions in the Sky

Next up is some post-rock from an American band called Explosions in the Sky. I was in two minds trying to decide which one of their song to put on the list, between this one and ‘First Breath After Coma’. This one made the cut because it’s my favorite song to run to. If you’d ask me to describe Explosions in the Sky’s music in one word, I’d say ‘hopeful’. This song in particular has hope written all over it. It’s the kind of sound you want in your ears when every inch of your body wants to surrender to gravity but you still keep going.

3. What’ll I Do by Lisa Hannigan

This is the one that got me to start listening to folk and indie folk styles of music. I just can’t decide what my most favorite part about this song is. The lyrics or the music video or the super happy chorus or Lisa Hannigan herself. There’s also an interesting back story angle to this song. It’s speculated to be about Damien Rice (an all-time favorite, features later in this playlist) who she used to be in a relationship with.

4. Pink Moon by Nick Drake

Nick Drake was an English musician and singer-songwriter. His music never received the acclaim and attention it deserved during his lifetime (he died really young, 26 years old) but won the recognition it deserved much later. Drake had been plagued by depression for most part of his adult life and it shows in his music. This song, like the rest of the album, is very bare and stark – Drake’s haunting voice accompanied by his guitar and some piano.

5. Pompeii by Bastille

This one is by an England based indie rock band called Bastille. The song can be inferred to be about someone who is stuck in the monotony of their day to day life. About how they had dreamt something different, perhaps grander, for themselves and now they’re now waiting for that grandeur to show itself.

6. Summer in the City by The Lovin’ Spoonful

This one is so old that it’s original release was on vinyl alone. It has a very funky air of relaxedness about it. Take a look at the video – it’s nothing too fancy; just the band performing the song and goofing around – it won’t fail to put a smile on your face. I’m not a big fan of the ‘vintage’ sound. But this one with the simplicity of its sound is a very welcome exception.

7. I Don’t Want To Change You by Damien Rice

This is a track from the recently released Damien Rice album. Rice has been a favorite right since I found his music. But that what makes this album so special is the fact that I got to watch him perform live while he was on tour promoting it. Coming back to the song, the string section that plays at the beginning and intermittently throughout the song breaks my heart every time I hear it. As is the case with Rice’s songs usually, the lyrics are brilliant.

So, that’s that. Hope you enjoyed my playlist. Thank you Nadia for giving me this chance. This was fun.

Leave a Reply

