#17

Took some free time in between study to write this post. It’s going to be short and quick as in the last few posts.

SiaFirst track for today is Sia with Breath Me. I heard this one recently on ABC Lounge Radio, and I loved the experience of having to hear it again after so long.

A lot of people I know really like Sia’s music. She’s a different experience altogether. You can always connect with the voice and sounds associated with her.

Breath Me is a really simple song, some very simple lyrics, but together with the music and Sia’s very expressive voice, the song transforms into something very real that you can feel.


Playing for change got really popular with some of their covers like Stand By me or One Love; I decided to share a less popular but just as nice track called Biko.Playing For Change

The song was originally composed by Peter Gabriel and is about Steve Biko, a noted black South African anti-apartheid activist. The Playing For Change version is from their album ‘Songs Around The World’.

I’ve heard the Peter Gabriel version of this song as well, which is just as nice. But I really love PFC’s cover. It’s gentle and profound. Reminds you of darker situations you haven’t seen around the world, and then, of hope as well.


The Clay PeopleAnd now I give you Awake by The Clay People.

I don’t know what about this song makes it so awesome to me, but I love it! From the buzzing and droning noises that feel a little creepy and make me think of giant man-eating insects, to the rather straight-forward  lyrics, this song is addictive.

The Clay People are an Industrial Rock band from Albany, New York. I haven’t heard any other track by the band. Yet.

I hope you like it.


This song was suggested by a friend. I’m sure you’ve heard it. It’s Daughtry with Home.Chris Daughtry

There’s not a lot I’m required to say about both the song, and Chris Daughtry.

“Home” charted on the Hot 100 weeks before its release as a single, and became the band’s second top-five single on the chart, peaking at number five. The song topped both the Billboard Adult Top 40 and the Adult Contemporary charts, spending ten consecutive weeks at number one on the Adult Top 40 (“It’s Not Over” spent nine weeks at number one on the chart), as well as becoming the band’s first number one on the AC chart, where it spent ten non-consecutive weeks at the top.

-Wikipedia


And now from the 70s, I’m giving you Eric Carmen with All By Myself.

Eric CarmenThe song is a power Ballad by Eric Carmen, released in 1975.

The verse is based on the second movement (Adagio sostenuto) of Sergei Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No.2 in C minor, Opus 18. The chorus borrows from the song “Let’s Pretend” that Carmen had recorded with the ‘Raspberries’ in 1972.

-Wikipedia

There are several cover versions of this song by artists such as Celine Dion, Frank Sinatra and Il Divo.

I’ll admit I love a lot of music from the 70s. I think the 70s era was the best in terms of music discovery, composition, experimentation and variety.


Sixth song on today’s playlist is Fastball with The Way.Fastball

The Way was released in February 1998 as the lead single from the band’s second studio album ‘All The Pain Money Can Buy’.

The song’s lyrics revolve around an older married couple who decide to give it all away by packing up and going driving. Along the way, their car breaks down, so they continue on foot. As the song goes on, it becomes apparent that these two achieve happiness by losing touch with the world.

-Wikipedia

There is absolutely no reason you shouldn’t love this song. The number of musical styles that have been so beautifully incorporated in the song are worth a mention. You can hear the rhythm guitar going about in a Tango, there’s a little bit of Rock & Roll and hammered chords on the keyboards that fill in. It’s really an interesting listen. The lyrics convey a beautiful message as well.

Go on and enjoy the song.


Marc Atkinson TrioLast song for today is by Marc Atkinson Trio, and is called Vorizo. I’m going to leave you a little surprise with this song, thus not telling you anything about it. I’m sure you’ll love it.

Marc Atkinson is one of Canada’s finest JUNO-nominated, Western Canadian award-winning musicians. He is the leader and composer of the internationally renowned Marc Atkinson Trio.

The music of this virtuosic group is melodically captivating, sensually charged and ferociously, technically awe-inspiring.

-Marc Atkinson Official Page


I really am sorry I’m not able to write a lot off-late. I’ve got a big exam coming, so please bear with me.

Thanks for the feedback again, and don’t stop talking to me. I love receiving responses to the blog.

Until next week.

Happy Listening!

One thought on “#17

Leave a Reply

