#16

Hello!

Back again this week with seven more songs to share with you.

To kick start this playlist, I chose a nice French number by Olivier Libaux. It’s called Ils Sont Marrants Les Gens.Olivier Libaux

Olivier Libaux is a French record producer, songwriter and guitarist. He performs both in French and English. The song Ils Sont Marrants Les Gens is Track #4 from his 2007 album ‘Imbecile’.

I love this song. It’s gentle, relaxing, steady and amusing to listen to. Mr. Libaux has a rather unique voice and manner of singing, I think that’s what I find most amusing.


GodsmackI traveled the past week, and during the bus journey, while plugged into my music player, several of the songs on today’s playlist came up. I knew just then I wanted to share them. The song Serenity by Godsmack is one.

I love Godsmack. I really enjoy Tribal sounds and Godsmack captures and conveys just perfectly. Serenity is one of their softer more gentler tracks, so if this band is new to you, I think Serenity is a good song to start with. It’s beautiful actually. Some pretty deep lyrics, Sully Erna has a hypnotic deep thick voice, that back beat is pretty addictive as well.


I heard this track recently on Jango Internet Radio. I love the Plain White T’s, and Rhythm Of Love, despite the predictability and it’s typical nature, is a really nice song.Plain White T's

Tom Higgenson has such a gentle voice. And that voice, along with soothing Hawaiian style guitar strumming and soft backing vocals makes this such a pleasing soothing song.

The only other song I’ve heard by the Plain White T’s is Hey there Delilah.


I’ve been wanting to share Buckethead with you for weeks now. Just didn’t find the right place for it in any playlist before this one. I’ve chosen the track Soothsayer.

BucketheadFor those of you who don’t know, Buckethead is Brian Patrick Carroll’s stage name.

is an American guitarist and multi-instrumentalist who has worked within many genres of music. He has released 114 studio albums, four special releases and one EP. He has performed on over 50 more albums by other artists. His music spans such diverse areas as heavy metal, progressive metal, funk, instrumental rock, experimental rock, experimental metal, blues, jazz,bluegrass, ambient and avant-garde music.

-Wikipedia

Buckethead is most famous for wearing a KFC bucket on his head and an expressionless plain white face mask.

Most of his music that I’ve heard so far has been astoundingly good. The man has long spider appendage like fingers that look insane at the speed they go on his fret-board!

Definitely one of my favourite guitarists of all time.


Here’s another track I’d decided to share after I heard it on the bus journey. It’s 60s brit band Genesis with I Can’t Dance.Genesis

Genesis are among the highest-selling recording artists of all time with approximately 130 million albums sold worldwide. They were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2010.

-Wikipedia

‘I Can’t Dance’ is the 4th track from the band’s 91′ album ‘We Can’t Dance’.


The RasmusI had to do a little research for this one. I knew there was a European band and a song that got really popular in the early 00s. I heard it several times on WorldSpace Satellite Radio, I just wasn’t able to recollect the band’s name, the song’s name, or what the song sounded like. Anyway, after much searching, Here’s The Rasmus for you with In the Shadows.

This song is actually pretty damn good. I’m reminiscing right now, listening to it after so many years, and I am so proud of myself. I had really great taste in music for as long as I can remember! 🙂 I really dig lead vocalist Lauri Ylonen’s voice!

I’m pretty sure you’ll remember this one.


To close Playlist #16, I decided on a soft slow Unplugged version of Eric Clapton’s Layla, which was suggested by a friend.Eric Clapton

I’ll be honest, I don’t really like the original version of this song by Derek And The Dominos. This Unplugged cover by the man Eric Clapton himself though, is just classic! You can never get enough of it. The Blues just emanating throughout the song, Clapton’s sheer musical genius showing through and through.

Perfect way to bring a playlist to a close yes?


I’ve been getting tons of feedback from various people visiting the blog, so Thank You. I really appreciate the responses. Just as I always say, don’t stop writing to me, telling me what you think, or suggesting songs you’d like me to share.

Until next week.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

