#13

Hey there.

This post was to be out two days back. I’m sorry about the delay, I haven’t been feeling myself and I kept putting off writing. Anyway, I thought it wasn’t fair to keep delaying so here’s playlist #13:

First track I chose for today is Bicycle Race by Queen.Queen

The song was written by Mercury and was inspired by his observing a stage of the 1978 Tour de France passing where the band were recording ‘Jazz’ in France. It starts with a chorus unaccompanied by instruments. The chorus is followed by two verses connected with a bridge, both followed by a chorus. Around the middle of the song there is a solo played with numerous bicycle bells. The song has an unusual chord progression with numerous modulations, a change of meter (from 4/4 to 6/8) in the bridge, and multi-tracked vocal and guitar harmonies.

-Wikipedia

Queen will always be a band for all seasons. Mercury has such an incredible and flawless voice, and those backing voices give all their music such a beautiful choral effect. Such musical perfection and precise execution. Bicycle Races, a good example why Queen is still the world’s best selling artist.


One Ok RockThis second song on today’s playlist was a suggestion by a blog follower. It’s Japanese band One Ok Rock with Mighty Long Fall.

The very first time I heard the track I was taken by the sheer brilliance of execution and sound mixing. Call One Ok Rock an Alternative-hardrock-punk rock band, they do those genres justice.

The track Mighty Long Fall, is a lingual mix of both English and Japanese. A continuous steady flowing back beat, drummer Tomoya Kanki is indeed talented. Lead vocalist Takahiro Morita (stage name Taka) has some range! A brilliant powerful voice as well.

Go listen to Mighty Long Fall if you already haven’t. You might enjoy it.


I’m now giving you some soothing blues with John Mayer’s Slow Dancing In A Burning Room.John Mayer

I enjoy all of John Mayer’s music on my ear phones when I’m trying to unwind. His voice has that effect on you. It can calm you while his guitar gentle sings you to sleep. This song, Slow Dancing In A Burning Room isn’t my favourite John Mayer song, but I thought it would be perfect on this week’s playlist. It’s got some really great lyrics, beautiful musical direction, and the overall effect it has on you is pleasant.


SlashThis song that made it fourth on playlist 13 is one I know of because a cousin shared it with me. It’s Slash featuring Fergie and Cypress Hill, and the track is one you might recognize easily- Paradise City.

Ever since I heard this one, I love it more than the original Gun N’ Roses version. And I love it most for Fergie’s voice which leaves me mesmerized. I’ve a thing for powerful vocals, and that there, is female vocals at it’s powerful best.Fergie

Apart from the brilliant vocal collaboration, there’s some really good musical variation as well. I haven’t really heard Cypress Hill yet, but what I hear on this track, is good stuff.Cypress Hill

So on the whole, a great cover of an already great track.


And another soft mellow track to lighten the mood. It’s Stacey Kent with Jardin d’hiver.Stacey Kent

Stacey Kent is an American Grammy-nominated Jazz singer, and her French sounds incredible!

The song Jardin d’hiver is Track #2 from Kent’s 2010 album “Raconte Moi” comprising 12 songs, all performed in French.

I WILL judge you if you don’t like this song!


Andy GrammerI first heard this song when tuned in to the Hits station on Jango Internet Radio. I liked it. It’s Andy Grammer with Keep Your Head Up.

I think this track is an example of good modern pop. I’m not very fond of Pop music otherwise, or the turn it’s taken- Lady Gaga, Justin Beiber, Nicki Minaj and all.

Keep Your Head Up is a great up-beat up-lifting track. Simple and predictable, but catchy and fun to listen to.


I chose to close this playlist with another suggestion by a friend. It’s the theme for For A Few Dollars More by Ennio Morricone.Ennio Morricone

I will be honest, never watched the film. I’m not into old westerns that much. I did however read up on all that I had to in order to write this piece.

Ennio Morricone is an Italian musical genius from the 20s. He has written, composed, conducted and produced several very popular themes such as this, won awards for several as well.

I’ve now listened to this theme 4 times in the past 10 minutes, trying to find words to describe it.. I’ve got nothing. That does not however mean I do not think this track is praise-worthy. In reality, describing it with words that don’t do it justice would be a sin. I think Ennio Morricone captures true western and southern American culture really well in this short theme. A beautiful harmony between native American and Western civilization.


There’s 7 more tracks I’ve shared with you this week, I hope you enjoy them. Thanks a ton for all the feedback and suggestions that keep coming in. Don’t ever stop talking to me.

I’ll be back in a week with a few more shares. So until then.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

