#10

Hey people! Playlist #10 is here.

This is also my last post for the month, so it’s been three months of sharing music with the world. It’s all good.

My first song for today is Sheryl Crow with A Change Would Do You Good.Sheryl Crow

I like Sheryl Crow. I’ve heard several songs by her, covers and originals, and they’re all great listens! The mix of pop, country, soft rock, blues, and Crow’s bold voice all sound really good together.

The song A Change Would Do You Good is from her second album, released in 1997. It’s catchy yeah; a little hard to comprehend, Crow throwing all these big words at you and really fast. Personally, I don’t think the song is supposed to take you anywhere or convey anything important. It’s just a fun song, bringing in plenty of energy. Great to kick start a playlist with!


Second song for today is one I’ve had on my mind for a while. In fact off-late, I’ve heard a few other songs by this band on radio and otherwise, always ultimately reminding me of this one- God Gave Rock And Roll To You. And the band is KISS.

KISSI love listening to this song! To be honest, key changes, rhythm changes, tempo changes, hell any striking changes in a song really do it for me. And God Gave Rock And Roll To You has so many! It starts off simple- broken chords on a clean guitar, the fourth bar catches you off guard where you suddenly hear steady drumming building the song and you know something’s up. The chord sequence through this entire Intro is remarkably catchy. Coming into the song, you hear the Chorus which is practically a rock anthem (It really sounds like one), and it makes you want to sing along real loud. The verses to the song are contrasting from the Chorus, which is why the song is brilliant. The execution of changes is so flawless. Lead vocalist Paul Stanley does a good job controlling the drive and pace of the song. From 3:15 onward is the part of the song that I love most. I’m not going to ruin it for you by describing it here.

Listening to this one loud has its own charm. I’m sure you’ll love this rock anthem as much as I do once you listen to it!


The third song for today is plenty of fun. It’s called Birdhouse In Your Soul by They Might Be Giants. It’s 3They Might Be Giants minutes and 20 seconds of silly, jumpy, catchy, amusing and funny.

They Might Be Giants are an American alternative rock band formed by John Flansburgh and John Linnell. Off-late, the band has found itself doing really well playing children’s music and theme music for TV programs and films. Figures right? 🙂 I’m not judging. In fact I’m sharing this one because I like the song. Who doesn’t want a dose of silly childishness every once in a while!


So after three fast jumpy tracks, I’m giving you a soft mellow soothing classic called Meditation, composed by French composer Jules Massenet.

Jules MassenetMeditation is from the opera “Thais”. The piece was composed for solo violin and orchestra, that’s what you’re listening to right now.

All classical compositions are rewritten to either include or exclude other instruments. I am currently learning Meditation for solo piano, which is how I was inspired to share it with you.

This piece is beautiful. I think beauty is the best word to describe it. It induces a very strong sense of peacefulness and calm- meditation; and it reminds you that life is beautiful. Be patient with it, and it will teleport you to another world for about 6 minutes.

Just close your eyes, lay back, and let Jules Massenet comfort you.


Last track for today is also a slow number, but of course a beauty. I’ve chosen to leave you with Send Me An Angel by The Scorpions.The Scorpions

Now If you know The Scorpions, You’ll agree they write some of the best songs. Lyrically I mean. All their songs focus on a central theme, the words surround that theme so perfectly. And then there’s also musical genius. The Scorpions compose some of the best sounds. You can always tell it’s a song by The Scorpions, not by Klaus Meine’s so unique voice or accent, but by that unique blend of major and minor key and those amazing Chord combinations.

Send Me An Angel fills me with a feeling of reassurance. There’s a plea and there’s certainty that someone’s listening to this earnest plea. Backing voices on this song literally sound like angels. Klaus Meine sings with so much feeling and confidence, you sense strength and emotion at the same time. You barely notice key changes because they blend in the song so well, it sounds almost natural.


And that’s the end of my 10th playlist. It feels like I’ve reached a tiny little milestone. I’m glad I write this blog, and I’m hoping you really enjoy the content and shares as well. Keep those thoughts and feedback coming. Until next week.

Happy Listening!

3 thoughts on “#10

  1. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break.

    I enjoy the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, fantastic site!

    Like

Leave a Reply

