#6

Hello!

I wasn’t able to add this post by Thursday because I wasn’t feeling it. Here it is anyway- Playlist #6

BushI like starting out with a loud energetic track. Adds so much more Bang into the playlist in general.

And so I’ve chosen Machinehead by the Brit band Bush.

I first heard this band on WorldSpace satellite radio. I’d probably heard four or five tracks by them, but I was a lot younger and didn’t really take the trouble to note down artist names and song titles. My brother and I rediscovered Bush about two years back, and now they’re favourites.

Machinehead is a single from the band’s 1996 album Sixteen Stone. There’s nothing technically astounding about the song. Don’t get me wrong, Machinehead is a great song. It’s catchy, loud but not disturbing, well executed, lead vocalist Gavin Rossdale’s strong grungy voice adding so much more awesomeness to the track.

Bush is popularly known as Britain’s Nirvana, and for good reason. I would probably describe the band as post-grunge, Alternative Rock; and the song I’ve picked strongly depicts all of that, so go ahead and give it a listen.

I wouldn’t say this because then it would seem like my musical taste is very influenced by my feminine side, but if you were thinking “God! That frontman is hot!”, you’re right.


I’ve never shared a Bollywood song before because I’m not a fan, but I’d be wrong if I said the Indian film industry lacked musical genius. To be honest, I think the musical industry here is what saves the film industry. (So smite me). I’ve chosen this song that I’m very fond of, it’s called Kholo Kholo, and it’s from the 2007 Aamir Khan movie Taare Zameen Par.

The song Kholo Kholo was composed by the musical trio Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy, written by Prasoon Joshi and sung by Raman Mahadevan.Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy

Of course I first heard the song while I watched the movie, which is quite good btw, but I actually understood the depth of this song while in the band with my friends. We uh.. did a performance in the city and this was on our playlist. We were nowhere close to the original, but we did a decent job. Ahh.. Good times those.

I’m not going to elaborate on the meaning of this song for you non-Indian Bloggers, I think there are webpages that provide that. I’l just give you an idea of what the song’s about.

The movie is about this dyslexic kid who is misunderstood and hence depressed, and so the song is about looking at the positive things (even the littlest) in life despite all the negatives that put you down all the time, and finding the courage and motivation to move forward from where you are.

The song is so simple. But man! It’s so deep, it gets me every time I listen to it.

If you’re Indian, you’ve obviously heard the song. Listen to it again.

If you’re not, take my word for it. The song is worth it.


Bon JoviI don’t think I’ve shared an acoustic version of any song so far. This one will be my first, it’s by the very popular band Bon Jovi, and it’s Livin On A Prayer.

Bon Jovi rerecorded the song and called it Prayer ’94 and that’s exactly what you’re listening to on this playlist.

I like this one so much better than the original, I’m not very fond of the Album version in fact. Bon Jovi have themselves covered Livin On A Prayer in so many different versions, I’ve heard only two covers so far, Prayer ’94 being one of them.

I love singing along with this one. The vocal line is so clear, those backing vocals are exquisite. They complete the track. It’s not often you come across a song where the backing vocals play such an important role. And Jon Bon Jovi has a really nice soothing clear voice, he brings out the emotion on the version so perfectly. I would love to watch this one being performed live.

The track, unlike it’s album version, is very mellow. It’s a beautiful song. Go ahead, you will love it.


I think I first heard The Black Keys on Absolute Radio. I’ll be honest, I never paid much attention to the band or any of their music I’d heard. It was all just.. music played onThe Black Keys the radio. My brother convinced me to listen to this track Sister on my headphones, telling me the stereo effect on it is awesome and that the song sounded so much cooler than on the radio. He was so right!

I’m going to ask you to do the same. It really does sound awesome. I’m listening to it right now in fact, typing along as it goes, describing what I’m feeling. And I’m feeling perfection entering my ears. The track is so brilliantly balanced. If you actually focus on the music in the background, you’ll discover a whole range of sounds that you had no clue were there. I’m not going to say anymore, I’ll leave the discovering to your senses.

A little about this band that I should mention, The Black Keys are an American duo consisting of Dan Auerbach, the guy playing the guitar and singing lead vocals; and Patrick Carney, the guy on the drums. Their genre of music is mostly Indie-Garage-Blues rock.

It’s good stuff. I hope you love this track.


The last song for today, is I think a good way to bring a playlist to a close. The song was a suggestion to my blog, so I’ll add at this point, Thanks, and keep those suggestions coming! Let’s discover music together! (Yeah now it’s getting cheesy). Honestly though, I’m really glad the song was suggested. I’ve heard this one before but I’d never have thought of adding it to the playlist.

Enough anticipation, the song is Another Day In Paradise by Phil Collins.

PHIL COLLINS, BEAU-RIVAGE HOTEL, GENEVA, SWITZERLAND, 19/04/10Describing this song and this artist could take me forever. I’ll start with an introduction to The Phil Collins.

Talk about a multi-instrumentalist, and the first name that will pop into my mind is Phil Collins. The man’s unbelievable. Seriously. He’s a really good drummer, he plays the piano, organ, synthesizer and keyboard, he also plays guitar, bass guitar, the trumpet, the bagpipes, the harp, and he’s a brilliant vocalist! I don’t think I need to say much more. I’ll add that he’s English.

The song, Another Day In paradise, is a beautifully composed, perfectly written, very deeply intended song. The base subject of the song is homelessness.

I’m going to go a little in depth now. The song starts off soft and slow, a low constant hum which builds into an identifiable tune and rhythm. Phil Collins’ voice is so clear, his pronunciation almost deliberate, ensuring you get the message to the track no matter what. It’s beautiful. You don’t see the actual side of the song until the first chorus has been sung. You’ll also come across this Jingle that works as a filler that you’ll associate with the song for the rest of your life.

I think the best part of this song is the bridge. It’s so well written and composed. It does a brilliant job in letting the true meaning of that third verse sink in.

The song is in general very well written. Those lyrics are exceptional. The fictitious story of a homeless woman and an inconsiderate man really make you think.

Phil Collins is an amazing man! You just HAVE to listen to this song if you haven’t already. Hell, listen to it either way.


That’s the end of playlist #6. I did a little observing and I noticed the volume of my written content has progressively increased. Hoping that’s a good thing and works positively on the blog.

I’m open to feedback of any sort, so go ahead and tell me what you think.

Until next time.

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

